On November 1st, GKIDS and Shout! Factory will release the anime short “Summer Ghost” on Blu-ray and digitally.

I want to eat your pancreas, Josee, The Tiger and the Fish, and Vivy -Fluorite Eye’s Song- artist loundraw’s directorial debut will be available on Blu-ray Disc and online on November 1 thanks to GKIDS and Shout! Factory, according to a Monday announcement. English subtitled and dubbed trailers were streamed by the company:

Summer Ghost Trailer

There will be two versions available: the English dub and the Japanese original with English subtitles. A feature animatic, an interview with loundraw, and the documentary “To You Before Dawn” are included as extras.

Cast members that speak English are:

  • David Errigo Jr. as Tomoya
  • Megan Taylor Harvey as Ayane
  • Clifford Chapin as Ryo
  • Kyla Carter as Aoi
  • Anne Yatco as Tomoya’s Mom, Ayane’s Mom

The short will get a theatrical release in North America this summer, as GKIDS originally promised. On July 1, during Anime Expo, the business showed a sneak glimpse. The short was exhibited at the Annecy International Animation Film Festival on June 15 and 17.

Summer Ghost

Last November, the film had its Japanese premiere.

A single artwork by loundraw served as the basis for the short’s narrative. Students in high school, Tomoya, Aoi, and Ry, connected online. A “summer ghost,” a spirit girl who manifests when fireworks are lit, is said to exist in an urban legend.

The life Tomoya had planned for himself is not possible. In the world, Aoi is unable to locate her place. Ry has unexpectedly had his once-bright future ripped away. The yearning to encounter the summer ghost is different for each person. Which of their emotions will lead them where on a June night when life and death collide?

In addition to directing, loundraw also created the original character designs, and Flat Studio, the company he founded in 2019, is animating. The script was written by Hirotaka Adachi, also known as the author Otsuichi (Stare cinema, Goth, Calling You, Zoo). Project management and production were handled by Flagship Line, while distribution was handled by Avex Pictures. The music also included contributions from Itoko Toma, Guiano, and Hideya Kojima, in addition to the highly regarded pianist Akira Kosemura.

The compilation book volume of the manga adaption by Yoshi Inomi was released in November 2021 after it was introduced to the Tonari no Young Jump service in October 2021. Otsuichi, the renowned novelist and author of the anime’s script, expanded the plot in a novelization that was published in October.Additionally, the “fireworks and ghosts” theme is continued in the spinoff novel Ichinose Yna ga Uiteiru (Yna Ichinose Is Floating), which was released in November.

Project Common is a multimedia effort “to represent the genuine loundraw,” and the short is a component of it. Last summer, the artist declared, “I want to discover my unshakable self, who never changes. Finding our actual “loundraw” with each other and with this endeavour is a struggle.” The English content might be found on the project’s website “genuine or false Both his thinking and his drawing styles. Each of these merge into “one.””

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *